The British Softball Federation (BSF) announced the rosters for the Under-22, Under-18, and Under-15 Women’s National Teams.

Although no British National Team – fastpitch or slowpitch – will be taking part in official competitions this summer due to issues posed by the Covid-19 pandemic, three GB Women’s Fastpitch Teams have announced their roster selections for 2021 to honour the selected athletes.

For the 2021 season, due to ongoing pandemic restrictions, the GB Women's Fastpitch Softball Programme held its first entirely virtual team trials during the peak of the pandemic’s second wave in the UK and North America. The trials were open to all athletes wishing to try out for the GB Under-15, Under-18, Under-22, and Senior Women’s National Teams. All athletes were required to submit video evidence of testing protocols -- athletic, defensive, and offensive skills -- as well as game footage and player stats by 22 February.

BSF National Teams Officer and GB Softball Coach Alexis Markham-Hill said: “Reviewing all of the athletes’ trial videos was quite an emotional experience, knowing that despite the struggles our athletes and their families may have been going through, they were still determined to do the best they could, in the safest ways possible, to try to earn their spot on a GB Softball National Team roster."

Photo by Dirk Steffen

GB Under-22 Women’s Team 2021:
Cameron McGinnis, Carys Lynch, Catriona Strang, Elise Coulthard, Hannah Edwards, Holly Newell, Kaitlyn Hickey, Katie Burge, Lauren King, Madison Chappell, Megan Kyte, Michelle Shaw, Morgan Salmon, Saige Sampson, Sidney Rose, and Tia Warsop
Team Staff:
Jo Malisani, Gina Carbonatto, Windy Thees, Whitney Hollis, and Edwin Lam.

GB Under-18 Women’s Team 2021:
Cara Edwards, Carys Lynch, Catriona Strang, Emma Smith, Emma Thomas, Georgia Wilson, Ivy Clark, Jasmine Francik, Jessica Chan, Madeleine Sherwood, Megan Longman, Mililani Youngman, Molly Blackwood, Rhianne Henderson, Saige Sampson, Shinju Kimura-Phalon, Sidney Rose, Sonia Keswani, and Tia Warsop
Team Staff:
Kathleen Laster, Tara Tembey, Kate Mayfield, Alexis Markham-Hill, David Morris, and Sarah Cormack.

GB Under-15 Women’s Team 2021:
Cara Edwards, Ella Holloway, Emma Smith, Emma Thomas, Georgia Wilson, Jasmine Francik, Jenna Thompson, Jessica Chan, Madeleine Williamson, Megan Rollins, Megan Longman, Mililani Youngman, Molly Blackwood, Saige Sampson, Shinju Kimura-Phalon, and Sonia Keswani
Team Staff:
Jo Malisani, Alexis Markham-Hill, Sian Wigington, Felicity West, Mary Murray, and Natasha Furnell.

The three teams have also announced plans for remote training during 2021 that will culminate in an in-person Training Camp in Florida, USA, next winter, which dates are still to be determined.

Find all the info on the British Softball Federation website.

Also read: New Head Coach appointed for GB U-18 Women
Also read: GB Fastpitch Men National Team appoints a new Head Coach
Also read: Israel Softball announces the Women's NT roster

/ BSF press release
Cover picture by Grega Valancic