From July 23 - 28, the first Olympic Softball Qualifier will be held in Utrecht, the Netherlands on the fields of UVV.

In total, six tournaments will be played over the whole world to determine the six teams that will participate in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. 

The top six National Teams from the European Softball Championship 2019 final standings and the top two National Teams from the African Softball Championship 2019 final standings will earn a spot for this Qualifier in Utrecht. For the Round Robin games, those eight teams will be divided into two groups of four (group A and B). The group draw will take place on 10 July 2019, at the WBSC Headquarters in Lausanne, exact time of draw to be decided.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Round carrying the result of the game played between each other, and so the bottom two teams of each group will be eliminated. The top National Team in the tournament final standings will gain a berth for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.  

- Romy Marinus -
/picture by Rein Merkx/