Men's Fastpitch

The European Softball Federation organizes two types of events: European Championships and European Cups.


Only national teams can compete in European championships. These are held every two years to determine the European Champion in each given category. 

Men's Softball European Championship was established in 1993, it was held in Prague, the Czech Republic. The Netherlands seized the first historical gold, Denmark placed second and the Czech Republic was third. Over the year, the Czech Republic has become the dominating country in men's softball in Europe.

U-19 Men's Softball European Championship was born five years later, in 1998. Again, the inaugural edition of the competition took place in Prague, the Czech Republic.  

U-16 Men's Softball European Championship is the youngest out of the three competitions. It premiered in 2017, again in Prague, the Czech Republic. The U-16 Championship is organized as a joint event together with the U-19 Men's Championship; two different tournaments, the same date, the same venue, the same group of umpires and officials. Players are allowed to be on rosters for both categories. 


European Cups are basically championships for clubs. These are organized on annual basis.

Based on two of the oldest men's softball tournaments in Europe - Bill Jeffrey and Zeister Slot - the first European Cup for men was created.

Men's Softball European Cup was played in 1990 for the first time. Guess where - in Prague, the Czech Republic. Only National Champions deserved a spot in this competition. This was the first-ever official (ESF-organized) men's softball tournament, five countries were represented - the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Belgium, and Guernsey. 

Men's Softball European Cup Winners Cup was established in 2002, and it is obsolete to mention where this one took place. Only winners of the national cups were allowed to enter this event. 

In 2012, Jens Terkelsen from Denmark came up with an idea to merge the two cup competitions and create a new tournament with the use of a double-elimination system.

Men's Softball European Super Cup (yes, Prague) is usually attended by about 20 teams. After the first round robin, these teams are divided into Super Cup and ESF brackets, where they compete for two European Cup titles.

There are special regulations set as to how teams can qualify to enter this competition:

Affiliated Federations may enter their two best teams from their national championship played in the year before each ESCM competition. The executive council of each Affiliated Federation must nominate and approve each team entering this competition. As a concession to the leading countries of men’s fast pitch in Europe, three teams may be entered by the countries which have finished in the first three places (medal winners) of the previous EChM. 
The winners of the previous year SUPER CUP and CUP II automatically qualify to participate at next event. The host country for each ESCM may enter one extra team. The number one and two of the previous European Championship Junior Men are also qualified to participate. Up to two extra teams from outside Europe can be invited by EC ESF, who may also allow further participants in case of special circumstances.

Official Federations

  • CEB
  • Olympic
  • World Anti-doping Agency
  • WBSC
  • Enjoy it
  • Tecnovap
  • Whistle shop
  • Bownet
  • Nieuwe Erf